GREGOR EICHINGER

Gregor Eichinger works in Vienna, a city full of history. The great cultural interrelations that have developed over time in the monarchy have left their mark on Viennese design. During his studies of architecture at the TU Vienna, his passion for Viennese design has arised.

There are many well-known but also less well-known designers, architects and artists who have influenced Gregor Eichinger during his career. Even now, new personalities are constantly being added. He deliberately does not have a focus on design. For him, design is always about attitude and innovation, about how to approach the task emotionally. This is then reflected in the design. In this respect, it does not matter whether you design a birdhouse, a door handle for a wardrobe or an entire city.

Viennese design has a lot to do with craftsmanship. One of the last great powers of Viennese design are the ‘Wiener Werkstätten’. They were founded by architects and thus run by artists, but are run as craft workshops. One of the characteristics was to get away from the overloaded creations, which were mainly meant to represent and were not usable. Instead, they wanted to create designs that were elegant, but also usable. At the time of the ‘Wiener Werkstätten’, something had begun with this which, in various levels and different manifestations, still plays a leading role in Viennese design and thus also in the designs of DEE today.

DEE’s cooperation partners have already made an important contribution to Viennese design. Viennese elegance plays an important role in the cooperation. Dietmar Eberle and Gregor Eichinger have known each other for many years and complement each other in their work. They create high-quality and unique pieces of furniture, known for their contemporary, modern Viennese design.

Awards

State Award for Promoting Experimental Tendencies in Architecture

Prize for Architecture of the city of Vienna

Bauherrenpreis Award of the Central Association of Architects

Red Dot Design Award

Good Design Award

Lower Austrian Prize for Timber Construction for the House Birkensee

GREGOR EICHINGER

Gregor Eichinger arbeitet in Wien, einer Stadt voller Vergangenheit. Die großen kulturellen Zusammenhänge, die über die Zeit in der Monarchie entstanden sind, haben im Wiener Design ihre Spuren hinterlassen. Während seines Studiums der Architektur an der TU Wien wurde seine Leidenschaft für das Wiener Design geweckt.

Es gibt viele bekannte, aber auch weniger bekannte Designer, Architekten und Künstler, die Gregor Eichinger während seiner Laufbahn geprägt haben. Auch jetzt kommen immer wieder neue Persönlichkeiten dazu. Einen Design-Schwerpunkt hat er bewusst nicht. Für ihn geht es im Entwurf immer um Haltung und Innovation, darum, wie man sich der Aufgabenstellung emotional nähert. Das bildet sich dann im Entwurf ab. Insofern ist es völlig egal, ob man ein Vogelhäuschen entwirft, einen Türgriff für einen Kleiderschrank oder eine ganze Stadt.

Wiener Design hat sehr viel mit Handwerk zu tun. Eine der letzten Großmächte des Wiener Designs sind die Wiener Werkstätten. Sie sind von Architekten gegründet, also von Künstlern betrieben, aber als Handwerksbetrieb ausgeführt. Eines der Wesensmerkmale war es wegzukommen von den überladenen Kreationen, die hauptsächlich repräsentieren sollten und nicht gebrauchsfähig waren. Stattdessen wollte man Designs schaffen, die zwar elegant sind, aber die man auch benutzen kann. Zur Zeit der Wiener Werkstätten hat damit etwas begonnen, was in verschiedensten Levels und unterschiedlichen Erscheinungsformen bis heute eine tragende Rolle im Wiener Design und somit auch in den Designs von DEE darstellt.

Auch die Kooperationspartner von DEE liefern mit ihrem Schaffen bereits einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Wiener Design. In der Kooperation spielt die Wiener Eleganz eine wichtige Rolle. Dietmar Eberle und Gregor Eichinger kennen sich schon seit vielen Jahren und ergänzen sich in ihrer Arbeit. Sie entwerfen hochwertige und einzigartige Einrichtungsstücke, bekannt für ihr zeitgemäßes, modernes Wiener Design.

Awards

Staatspreis für experimentelle Tendenzen in der Architektur

Architekturpreis der Stadt Wien

Bauherrenpreis der Zentralvereinigung der Architekten

Red Dot Design Award

Good Design Award

Niederösterreichischer Holzbaupreis für das Haus Birkensee